ACWA Bylaws

Alabama Cattlewomen's Association

2013 ACWA Board

2013 Louise Wilson Scholarship Winner

2013 State Beef Cookoff Winner

2012 JBE Scholarship Winner

The Alabama CowBelles Association, known today as the Alabama CattleWomen’s Association, has served as the auxiliary to the Alabama Cattlemen's Association since 1953. The Alabama CowBelles got their start when Mack Maples, ACA President, and E.   Ham Wilson visited Kansas City, Missouri in January 1953 for the annual American National Cattlemen’s Association meeting. The previous year, the American National CowBelles, Inc. was formed at the annual meeting in Fort Worth, Texas. The new CowBelles impressed Maples and Wilson with their ideas for helping the cattlemen promote their industry.

A few weeks later, at the annual Alabama Cattlemen's Association meeting, the suggestion was made to some of the wives of ACA leaders that an Alabama CowBelles Association might be a good idea. The women took hold of the idea and the next day a couple dozen of them gathered to organize the Alabama CowBelles Association. Doris Maples was elected as the first president of the association. The first year there were only 33 members, but these women went right to work following their slogan: “To Help the Cattlemen.”

The purpose of the CowBelles is stated in their Articles of Incorporation:
The purposes of this non-profit corporation are to serve as the women’s auxiliary of the Alabama Cattlemen's Association and to conduct, and to participate in, activities which will assist the Alabama Cattlemen's Association in its endeavors to promote, develop, expand, and encourage the production of beef cattle in Alabama, as well as its efforts for the advancement and betterment of the interest and welfare of Alabama cattlemen and the cattle industry; to conduct and be responsible for the ladies’ business and social activities at its annual meeting and on other occasions; and to do and perform any and all acts necessary and suitable, and proper for the accomplishment of the purposes for which it is organized.”

Over the years the CowBelles have been one of the most important contributions to beef promotion in Alabama. In 1954 the CowBelles pitched in to help distribute “Eat More Beef” stickers, and in 1955 they began their own program which still continues today: “Beef for Father’s Day.” The next big idea from the CowBelles was the start of the “Beef Cook Off” in 1961. 

The Alabama CowBelles changed their name to the Alabama CattleWomen’s Association in 1988.  The ACWA has proven to be a great asset to the Alabama Cattlemen's Association and the beef industry as a whole.

To become a member of the Alabama CattleWomen’s Association, download an application: Application

2014 Alabama CattleWomen’s Association Officers

Click here to view 2014 Officers

Click here to view ACWA Bylaws

Click here ACWA District Contacts

Click here ACWA Hall of Honor & Cowbelle Award

img Click here Louise Wilson Scholarship Guidelines

pdf Click here Louise Wilson Scholarship Application

Presidents of the Alabama CowBelles/CattleWomen’s Association

1953 Mrs. Mack Maples  
1954 Mrs. W.A. Womack  
1955 Carolyn Rudder Houston
1956-57 * Myrtle Breene Greene
1958-59 * Ora Lee Park Pike
1960-61 * Viola Moleette Dallas
1962-63 * Louise Wilson Montgomery
1964-65 Thelma Morris Monroe
1966-67 * Hope Wadsworth Autauga
1968-69 Hilda Smilie Montgomery
1970-71 Louise Belcher Perry
1972-73 Betty Hixon Pike
1974-75 * Sarah Killough Talladega
1976-77 Nell Goggins Sumpter
1978-79 * Nedria Smelser Tuscaloosa
1980-81 Myrtle Quiggle Marengo
1982-83 Joan Pate Lowndes
1984-85 Nellie Kate Tepper Dallas
1986-87 Aileene Dahlke Foster Tuscaloosa
1988-89 * Jeanette Warnke Cullman
1990-91 Rosellen Ray Elmore
1992-93 Mary Lois Childress Baldwin
1994 Judy Kelley Chilton
1995 Mable McDaniel Pickens
1996 Lynne Hardee Monroe
1997 Judy Pioroux Mobile
1998 Carol Dent Tallapoosa
1999 Cindy Pate Lowndes
2000 Laura Whitley Blount
2001 Shelby Hicks Talladega
2002 Sharon Fox Autauga
2003 Lana Slaten Cullman
2004 Ramona Harris Jefferson
2005 Nancy Ray Montgomery
2006 Nancy Simmer Shelby
2007 Pat Fell Walker
2008 Nancy Dickerson Lauderdale
2009 Debby Carpenter Pike
2010   Karen Harrision Baldwin
2011 Evelyn Brown Cullman
2012   Mona Smelser Plyler Tuscaloosa
2013   Cathy Crow Morgan
2014   Cindy Fitzpatrick Lowndes
* Deceased